Thursday 23rd February, 3:00pm

I was told that my role is going to be made redundant and my last day is 23rd March – 30 days from then. It was all very sudden and scary. What makes it worse is that they’re going to recruit someone else but with a different job title but with similar responsibilities. Hence making my role redundant…

After 3 and a half years of service, they didn’t even discuss with me the possibility of moving to another role, get training to get into another role or even just a warning that I could be made redundant. Also, I get 30 days to re-write my CV and to update my portfolio – both of which are terribly out of date as I didn’t think I wanted to move to another business. I got too comfortable and felt loyalty would be rewarded.

A lot of people think it’s the new marketing managers’ decision. Although the decision would’ve been run by her, I don’t believe that it came from her. Making an employee redundant in a large company takes time to do so – they’ll consult the legal team for reasons that I can’t sue them for and then also add in the complications of bringing in a similar role. The new Manager has hardly been here for a month so there’s not enough time for her to observe the team and then to make such a decision then to consult HR.

So to me, this really leaves two people that could have put the idea on the table. It would be my previous manager or the MD of the company – who had been acting as Marketing manager. My previous manager turned contractor for the company at the end of January, so it wouldn’t surprise me if it had started at that time. I don’t particularly get on with the MD (as in I don’t laugh if I don’t find his jokes funny) so he might do it. It sounds like that their out to get me or something, but I just can’t think of a reason of why they would want me out before they’ve even started to recruit for the other role. Is it because they can’t pay their salary if I’m still here? Doesn’t make sense to me.

Oh well, I have my second consultation period tomorrow morning, guess I will have my chance to ask then.

Random picture I made
One thought on “Thursday 23rd February, 3:00pm

Leave a Reply

