One thousand matches later…

It wasn’t that long ago before my last update, but being so close to my next milestone it can’t be helped. I’ve successfully completed my one thousandths online ranking match.

The statistics

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - 1000 matchesMain Character: Jean Kujo
Battle Points: 2870pts (+108pts)
Grade: Raider
Games: 1000
– Wins: 518
– Loses: 482
– Ratio: 51.8% (-0.229%)

The 1,000th…

Just a few games before my one thousandths match, another Jean Kujo player kept on challenging me. I hate playing mirror matches, but you could see the difference in style and which moves and combos the opponent favoured. Then you’re force to face the question – how well do you know your character? Well I knew more than him, although the more we played, the more he got used to my habits. My winning percentage against him was about 3/4 games. He was the opponent I had to face in my thousandths match and this time, I lost to him. I think my ability to change my fighting style is weak, it takes a bit of time for me to adapt and it often causes me to lose. Guess I need to be more flexible not only in my hands, but my mind as well.

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - 1000 matches screen

Strange messages…

I received a message from someone I had been playing a few matches against for a while. It seemed he was hinting he lost to my crouching punches or something – don’t really remember the results of last game with him. He felt compelled to tell me that “aimlessly mashing 2p can work entually afterall”. I didn’t really like his attitude and asked what the point of his previous comment was. He then replied:

my point is youd probably play better with less 2p….and the game would probably be more interesting for both u & ur opponent

I didn’t agree with him, well, for our match anyway. Crouching punch was a very effective tool in stopping his rhythm and making him think twice before doing some ridiculous long frame moves. Standing punch would work sometimes, but he also used a move which would make high and close mid attacks whiff. So I found the answer is to give him a crouching punch and get the counter hit off it as well. Being a bit cheeky, I replied with something along the lines of “so don’t use something that is working on you?”. He then came back with:

use it all day if u want. makes it easy for the opp. im saying youd do better if you are more selective with it

The problem with the above statement is, he doesn’t realise what I’m doing. He did throw out moves which would either sabaki low attacks, or make it whiff all together. But very few got me. Why? Because I knew he would use a move like that after getting 2-3 counter hit crouching punches (2-3 counter hits!!! Doesn’t that means he’s trying to mash something out too? Trying to lecture me on mashing!?). So after that 2-3 hits, I’d switch to a jab or just guard to see what’s going to happen. He always retaliates with something so I knew throws weren’t going to connect. Throughout the match, he didn’t pick up on this pattern, so if something works, I’m going to keep doing it! Anyone would do that in a competitive match. But I didn’t tell him that and thought I’d just ask him if he’s sure he’s messaged the right person. He answered yes so I just replied “Thank you for your advice”. He replied “cool”. I let him feel like the superior person he thinks he is because I want to concentrate on getting myself better – don’t have time or don’t think I’m even qualified to teach other people.

This actually reminds me of what Kendo is like in the United Kingdom. There aren’t many high grades in the UK. So many people spend 6+ years to get to 3rd dan – surely they’ve spent enough time training and they know most of the tricks now right? Well, it takes 30 years just to be able to attempt 7th dan! If you could learn everything by 3rd dan, then what will you learn in the next 5 grades? Each of them requiring you to practice for at least 4 years in between (double digits when you get to higher grades). But you still get people going around teaching others. Why? Ok, if you’re a university club and you’re the highest grade then yes, great! You’re trying to get more people involved with kendo. But when someone has more or less the same experience as you, what makes you think you’re qualified to even teach them something? What’s better is their “advice” is all about making you do what they’re doing. I like to aim higher thanks, so I just listen to what my sensei says.

Next steps…

Keep on going! I’ll see if I can get to either 1,000 wins or 1,500 matches first, I might even combine the posts depending on how far off they are from each other. But with my winning percentage to be around 50% I’ll probably have to combine them. Goals haven’t changed much though, practice, practice and more practice!

Leave a Reply

