Assassin’s Creed 3 – final chapter

After completing the previous title, I thought I wouldn’t buy another Assassin’s Creed game. Setting the third game in America and the chance to climb cliffs I thought it’d be fun. But I was mistaken.

Assassin's Creed III - box art
Assassin’s Creed III – box art

Assassin’s Creed 3 is very slow and boring. At points it starts to get interesting and fun but they don’t last long enough. Instead, it’s overshadowed by chases and more chases. I can’t remember how many missions either either a chase or ended with a chase. The lack of accuracy in Connor’s controls means you’ll often snap to a close by object during the chase meaning you’ll probably fail your first few tries.

Also, they’re not too clever on telling you what you need to do, I often get confused. I killed people that I’m supposed to be killing in a chase but that desynchronises the memory and is counted as a failure. What I was supposed to do, is run after the person, through crowds of people, attempt to run passed the guards and tackle my target.

Invading forts are effortless now, you hardly need to take out guards systematically to succeed. You can literally barge through the front gates and just massacre everyone. To make the game harder, the camera angle is pretty messed up and you can’t just counter everyone because they have guns now. It’s pretty stupid how in previous games you’ve essentially got a pistol with several chambers allowing you to do quick reload then shoot. This one, you spend so much time reloading, it’s not worth using guns anymore. Another useless feature are your assassin recruits. Unlike the Brotherhood, where they actually help you out, these guys are so fragile that they’re very likely to get injured. Plus, I don’t like the look of them. In Brotherhood I could choose who to recruit, but this one I don’t get a choice – which sucks. The story was ok, but I was hoping for a better showdown with Connor’s main rival (his dad) Haytham. Instead you get a crappy struggle.

I like some of the new features of the game, like the ship battles. It’s quite interesting, until you have to figure out how to destroy your enemies’ sails mid mission. You can hunt animals but I’ve yet to discover the usefulness of this.

As with the other game the ending didn’t make sense to me. The Creed/Desmond’s party choose to go against that. I guess it’s better than Armageddon? Just not impressed how they left things open ended paving the way for a new game. But at least you’ll get a new cast?

Assassin’s Creed 3 has been over hyped and reviewers have been smoking things whilst writing the reviewer. It is an average game with many frustrations. You could play this without playing the other games as it gives you a nice summary of what’s happened so far. I think people should try it to see if they like it, but for me, I hated it more times than liking it. I preferred Brotherhood than Assassin’s Creed 3.

This is my final Assassin’s Creed chapter.

Leave a Reply

