Shaking off the rust

It’s been a while since I’ve played BlazBlue, I kept on buying new games and became preoccupied with them.

BlazBlue - character select screen
BlazBlue – character select screen

The first thing I had to get used to was the lack of a guard button (thanks 3D fighters) – I also happen to map my ‘Drive’ attack to the same button. Needless to say this resulted in me being countered… a lot. The lack of playing hours really showed since I dropped simple combos and reacted slowly to attacks. So I retired from online ranking to challenge mode with Taokaka. The trials are actually really useful. I used to think they were there just for you to get an achievement, but the trials can help with getting used to the inputs, timings and flow of the game.

It didn’t take long to get to a comfortable feeling with the controls. But my sense for playing has dulled, so I practiced in training mode under Ranked matches. Surprisingly the matches just kept on coming! Not sure whether I was just lucky. I lost the majority of the matches I played but was I able to learn from my mistakes and get better and better.

I was able to unlock some online achievements on the way and I’m very close to unlocking another one. Hopefully I’ll win a few more and attain another achievement.

I just missed all this buzz I get from playing BlazBlue.

Leave a Reply

