Focus!!!

Kendo is a funny thing. Although it can be very physically demanding, your state of mind plays a bigger part than any physical attribute.

Last week I felt great about my training, I did kakarigeiko but felt I could go on forever. I didn’t hesitate and I reacted to everything. Last night I felt lazy (and bloated) and I felt sleepy. I couldn’t focus and my body was all over the place. I needed to keep a good posture but I attempted small useless cuts. I did everything wrong last night – my intention and my mind was absent.

Next practice I will shift my focus onto movement. Cutting from a good distance and being alert is when I feel like I’m doing good Kendo.

Leave a Reply

