Getting back into the greatest fighter…

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown is the greatest 3D fighter for me. I’m not even sure how I managed to keep away from it for so long – it’s such an addictive game.

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - generic win
Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown – generic win

After being away for so long, I’ve got a lot of rust to get rid of. The first thing I couldn’t cope with was the speed of the game. Virtua Fighter is a high speed mind battle between two people. If you’re too slow to react, you’ll get eaten alive. It’s interesting how command training will get you to remember button presses and even short combos, but nothing will prepare you for the opponents you will face. They are fast, pick on your weakness and will have their own strengths. So you have to be quick to notice and adapt your fighting style.

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - online rank Dec 2012
Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown – online rank Dec 2012

Playing online properly again, I was able to get my rank up to Barbarian again. Although, I’m not sure how long this will last as my winning percentage has dropped below 50% now. It will be tough, but it’d be great to level up again.

I also Found out that I’m actually in the top ten percent of the Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown online community… although to be honest, in reality, I’m probably closer to the bottom of the food chain as not all of the 21,784 people still actively play VF.

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - online rank Dec 2012
Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown – online rank Dec 2012
Leave a Reply

