1,000 years of pain…

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - 1000 losses screen
Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown – 1000 losses screen

On Saturday 4th May 2013 I’ve experienced my one thousandth online ranking loss in Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown.

The statistics

Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown - 1000 losses
Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown – 1000 losses
Main character: Jean Kujo
Battle Points: 5,197pts (+2,327pts)
Grade: Defender ( 2)
Games: 1,887
– Wins: 887
– Losses: 1,000
– Ratio: 47.0% (-4.794%)
Opponent: Kahn Rahn (AO)

The 1,000th loss

My opponent was stronger than me, the fact that I didn’t win a single round shows that. The thing is, I’m very weak against characters with lots of throwing in their arsenal and fake movements. Aoi is a character I have problems with as she can cancel her strings but still yell making me expect an attack but leaves me waiting for it. A major weakness in my play is I have lost the habit of doing easy throw escapes (ETEs). I would have at least a one in three chance of escaping throws (this isn’t the real chance in reality, but that’s a different matter) whereas if I’m not using ETEs then it’s practically 0% – almost guaranteed damage for my opponents. My reaction times have become slower too, I’m reacting when the animation of my opponents attack finishes, which is way to slow to follow up with anything.

Next goal…

I definitely need to get the habit of using ETEs back. It’s going to give me a better chance and it’s also a weakness I can correct relatively easy. Reaction still needs to be faster, but after I see a move a few times I start to get a feel for whether it is punishable or not, so that should help improve this. The problem this could lead to is people ending their strings prematurely, but that’s another thing to work on once I have got used to punishing. I would like to start incorporating Jean’s guard break into my play again. This will create even more pressure on my opponents as it’ll add another layer of mind games for me to play around with.

4 thoughts on “1,000 years of pain…

      1. Kl, I’ve got exams at the moment but next month I should be on Xbox Live, so I’ll give to some games of VF! Also, did I read that you’re from London?

      2. Yes, I’m from London. You may also want to check out virtuafighter.com where there are other VF fans on xblx/psn.

        Good luck with your exams.

Leave a Reply

