Kendo 3rd dan

On Sunday 19th May, I passed my 3rd Dan grading for Kendo. My friend also passed the same time as me (he was one of my grading opponents) and I’m really happy for him too.

The lead up to the grading was great, the company was great, the food was good and the weather was beautiful. Up until now the weather had been really bad, but the sun decided to show up on the weekend of my grading; it must’ve been a sign.

For this grading, I had to travel all the way to Watchet. Two years ago, I had passed my second Dan here. It’s a nice peaceful town close to a marina. We discovered a new pub with great food called the Star Inn.

In the 3grading, you are required to receive Kirikaeshi, then a short Jigeiko in front of the judging panel. You then change partners and now, you perform Kirikaeshi with Jigeiko at the end of that. If the quality of your performance is worthy enough, you are then required to perform all ten kata in front of the judging panel. If they are satisfied with your kata, you will pass.

It was hard work attaining third dan. To be honest, I don’t feel that much different from when I first started. But I have achieved it. Now I need to focus on training again, the next grading will be three years away.

Leave a Reply

