First practice after grade

Of course passing a grade doesn’t mean you’re suddenly going to be amazing. It means the hard work you’ve built up over the last few years have been recognised as good Kendo. So it was interesting to see what would happen in the first practice since my grading.

The training didn’t differ too much from previously. The biggest change was my mentality. The thought of having to keep a certain standard of Kendo made it more stressful. It also motivated me to try to produce an even higher quality Keiko. Training with others hasn’t changed, no reason it should as I’m still the same person.

I’m still learning about centre, what it means to hold centre and breaking it. Every time I attack, I tried to keep my shinai in an advantageous position and mean every cut.

I hope my approach and new focus on breaking centre will help me improve.

Leave a Reply

