2,500 matches later…

Virtua Fighter 5 - Final Showdown 2,500 matches
Virtua Fighter 5 – Final Showdown 2,500 matches

Half way to 5,000 matches and a quarter to 10,000. I’ll keep this post brief as there’s not a huge number of matches since my last update.

The numbers

VF5FS_2500_matches_statMain character: Jean Kujo
Battle Points: 6,810pts (+250pts)
Grade: Defender(+1)
Games: 2,500
– Wins: 1,141
– Losses: 1,359
– Ratio: 45.64% (-0.003%)
Opponent: hAd 06 (SA)

My opponent didn’t cause much problem for me. I wanted it to be a good match to write about but there wasn’t anyone online and he/she was the only player there. So I accepted the challenge and went on to win the match. I guess when playing against someone who isn’t as familiar with the game as yourself you do things which you normally don’t – such as punishing with launchers even though your advantage is very small. I’ve thought about why and there’s mainly 3 reasons I can think of. Number one, they don’t know that it’s their turn to guard and they continue to attack. If it was an attack like a jab, they might get a counter hit off it. But people usually go for the flashy damaging attacks which has more start-up frames so they end up eating a counter. The second reason is the lack of evading. Although with Jean’s knee launcher is -15 frames on guard, the unfamiliarity of the attack creates hesitation to retaliate. 15 frames is a quarter of a second in VF and that can pass very quickly if you’re not buffering inputs. The third reason is the lack of guarding. It’s true. I see it all the time (I also have this bad habit), people just standing there without holding the guard button down. I hope it didn’t feel like I was bullying him though. With a bit more knowledge, I’m sure they will do very well.

VF5FS_2500_matches

What’s next?

Next update should be when I’ve accumulated 7,000 battle points, 2,000 wins or 5,000 matches. Hopefully I’ll have improved even more by then. Maybe I’ll have a couple more costumes by then too!

Categories: ME!

Leave a Reply

