Xbox Gold free game – Assassins Creed II

Games with Gold - Assassins Creed 2
Games with Gold – Assassins Creed 2

I know I know, I said I won’t get another Assassin’s Creed game, but I’ve gone ahead and downloaded Assassin’s Creed II from Xbox Live as part of their free games offerings. This game has lasted me two weeks of gameplay (ok, I have also been playing others too).

I thoroughly enjoyed the game as it plays very much like AC:Brotherhood, but with bigger maps and a better story. Well, Brotherhood is a sequel to this and continues off from this game so its no surprise but ACII feels like a complete game whereas Brotherhood seems like its a little bit extra of the game they wanted to add but couldn’t do so.

Most part of Assassins Creed 2 felt like a tutorial and it does suffer from the frustrating control problems as it’s successors. Especially when on a time trial or chasing someone down; step a little too close to that scaffolding and you’ll start running up it. Also, when chasing down a particular enemy (who had just run through some guards), you try the same route and the guards teleport to reduce the gap and knock you backwards – seriously?

Despite that, the most enjoyable aspect of the game is here – climbing tall buildings. At first, the buildings were inferior to conquer as most of the time it’s just a case of jumping onto the wall and hold up. Later on, they are a bit more challenging.

I think I will skip the next two games that are free in August, they don’t appeal to me.

Leave a Reply

