Very impressive Xbox One

The Xbox One has been my gaming platform for nearly a year now; that’s enough time to reflect on the different features and accumulated gaming hours.

I’m really impressed with how far the Xbox One has come along since it launched last year. The constant updates and improvements have been fantastic. At launch, the UI felt sluggish and some features would take a while to load, but now it will load in a fraction of the time it used to take. Of course there are still things which can be improved upon, but considering that a number of requested features on Xbox’s feedback forum have been implemented in quick successions. The Xbox One experience will get to a very sweet spot soon – xbox.uservoice.com

vlcsnap-00001

Despite being a Day One edition, the machine is not suffering from any problems – no broken Blu-ray drive or anything like that. I’ve always liked what they’ve done with the new controller. It’s helped me enjoy racing games a lot more now I get feedback from the tires. Also the feeling of firing a gun is also pretty cool. I couldn’t tell if it was like shooting a gun though as I’ve only handled 4 guns for 3 minutes. I’m not using the headset at all as at the moment, I’m just focusing on gaming and I’m too busy to speak! haha so it was nice that they’ve included it, but unfortunately, I’ve not used it so I can’t tell you whether it’s good or not. The Kinect 2.0 though is my favourite addition to the Xbox One. Using it is so much easier than hitting a button or going through a menu. Just say “Xbox record that” and you get the last 30 seconds of gameplay recorded which you can go back to and edit and upload. Or I can say “Xbox go to Titanfall” and it’ll launch Titanfall. I don’t even bother going to my pins (shortcuts) any more. It’s not just voice commands though, the hand gestures are just so natural to scroll through a list of items. It’s like swiping on your mobile phone or tablet – that natural. The Kinect has also given me a really fun game to play with – D4: Dark Dreams Don’t Die, it’s really good and I’m playing through it a second time – I can’t remember the last time I replayed a game (story mode). I haven’t tried it with a controller yet, but it’s so fun with the Kinect I don’t want to. I can’t wait for season 2! I’m also planning on getting the Razer Atrox Xbox One Arcade stick so I can play Killer Instinct and Dead or Alive 5: Last Round.

rzr_atrox_xbox1_v6

The online experience has been top notch. I haven’t experienced many gaming sessions with lag; only a handful of matches (out of a thousand) had some lag spikes. Luckily the match making changes the teams and players frequent enough for it to not hinder my experiences much.

Most importantly, I feel the games are delivering! At the end of 360, only a handful of games were really good – such as the Tomb Raider reboot. Right now, games on Xbox One are booming! Sure, Watch Dogs wasn’t what I thought it’d be (still a slightly above average game) but the likes of Titanfall, Forza and D4 has been better than what I had expected. I can’t wait to get my hands on the upcoming titles.

vlcsnap-00001

Leave a Reply

