Writer behind Rise of the Tomb Raider

Game Informer’s latest coverage is an interview with Rhianna Pratchett. Rhianna wrote the story of the 2013 Tomb Raider reboot and here she is again writing a new adventure for Lara.

I liked the story in the first one so I think this is a pretty good team. I’m pretty glad Lara has been rebooted actually. I remember during the Saturn days that everyone seemed to be obsessed with a cheat to make Lara naked… Seriously it was mostly hot pants and tight tank top that sold it for most people back then so I’m glad we have a genuine person to play as this time round.

One thing from the interview that irked me a little is that PTSD is not the main theme of the game. From how the first game ended, the teaser and the book (Ten Thousand Immortals) Lara has had to deal with this. I was hoping we’d see the more human, younger Lara surfacing from this. But I guess this is a delicate subject and they may not want it too prominent otherwise it’d be quite a depressing game? They might get the balance just right so I’m here hoping for just that!

Check out the full interview over at Game Informer.

Leave a Reply

