E3 2015

Top 5 moments of E3

This was a really good E3 filled with exciting news and some really surprising ones too. I’ve made my top 5 moments list judged on how surprising and how excited I am by the news.

5 Halo 5: Guardians – War Zone

The trailer looks chaotic and that’s what I like about it. Having played the Battlefield beta, I liked the number of players but was disappointed by the weapons and gameplay. This will be a great mode to fill that void of insane number of players on the map with some top notch fps mechanics. I’m thinking this will be a good mode to visit when I don’t want the competitive multiplayer but just want to let loose in a Halo game.

2 ReCore

Straight after the Halo announcement we go into an Xbox One exclusive, ReCore. Made by Keiji Inafune, this is a game set in a post apocalyptic future where your hero is on a journey with a robotic dog! From the trailer, you can power other robots using the “core” from another machine. This has gotten me curious and I want to know more.

3 Xbox Elite Wireless Controller

I love hardware, I’ve got a fightstick to help me play fighters – I can’t imagine playing on a joypad again. So the idea of a controller which enhances my other games sound so good. Imagine shortening the the amount of distance your right trigger has to travel in order to shoot. Ah…. dream!

2 Backwards compatibility

I’ve not been excited by the ability of backwards compatibility before it was announced because Microsoft said it wasn’t possible. Turns out they were just lazy and needed some encouragement! I really want to play Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown, I miss it alot and it’d be great to play against the Xbox 360 guys who have yet to make the jump.

1 For Honor

Knights vs Vikings vs Samurai! Do I need to say anymore?! Oh my god it looks so much fun! I so want to play as a Samurai on the battlefield.

Honourable mentions

Rise of the Tomb Raider

We all knew more Rise of the Tomb Raider information was coming and I was expecting a gameplay trailer. So this didn’t quite make the list since I was expecting it but oh my God – I was so impressed. I had fears that the release is just around the corner yet we’ve heard so little. But this trailer has me excited. It looks like it’s taken some of my favourite elements of the previous game and improved it in the new. Rise of the Tomb Raider is definitely a day one purchase for me!

Gears 4

The gameplay showed it’s going back to roots. The look and feel of the demo reminded me of the first game which in my opinion, had the best campaign mode in it. It was dark, scary and captivating whilst the sequels were all very colourful and bright.

Final Fantasy VII Remake

Was completely off my radar but I’ve played this game on the original Playstation and on the PC more than 10 years ago. I don’t really want to play it a third time with updated graphics but hey I like Advent Children-like art. Where’s… er… Final Fantasy XV? You know, the one that’s supposed to come out soon?

Backwards compatibility

I’ve not been excited by the ability of backwards compatibility before it was announced because Microsoft said it wasn’t possible. Turns out they were just lazy and needed some encouragement! I really want to play Virtua Fighter 5 Final Showdown, I miss it alot and it’d be great to play against the Xbox 360 guys who have yet to make the jump.

Now comes the excruciating pain of waiting for these things to happen.

Leave a Reply

