Jessica Jones the drunk and messed up hero

Finally got round to (binge) watch Jessica Jones and overall, I’m very impressed.

It’s not what I expected it to be, I was expecting a badass perfect super hero running around doing good because it’s the right thing to do. Instead, I’m following the story of an alcoholic, broken super human with a (cool) attitude. It’s refreshing. Netflix’s depiction of our reluctant hero was entertaining and relatable. She wasn’t perfect, no but neither are we and I liked how human she was. The big “oh shit!” moment for me was when we discover Jessica is actually immune to Kilgrave’s powers (either through over coming her fear or scientifically developed immunity). That was an awesome moment and I was thinking “oh he’s in a lot of trouble now”. Comparing Jessica Jones to it’s related Netflix original series Daredevil, I thought Daredevil had some very good moments early on in the series. It did drop but it was still really good. Whereas I think Jessica Jones had a better average episode and was going upwards towards the end. Apple and oranges!

I’ll just put this out there, I’m not a fan of David Tennant. But I thought he was really good as Kilgrave. He’s actually got a lot of funny moments throughout the episodes. Like there was one part where he tells someone to be quiet and stand across the street because he annoyed him. One thing that I think Netflix is doing a really good job on is making three dimensional enemies. I think Kilgrave has so much power that he feels lonely and is driven insane by his God complex. It’s like a super genius being bored because nobody can match their intellect. So he just doesn’t care about others. There are scenes I found very hard to watch – I’m alright with gore but the parts where the story involves children just made feel very sad. It highlights Kilgrave’s powers that it’s not just mind control in that you robotically do something. It’s implanting an idea in your head and you just have to carry out that idea. The characters describe how they feel. They know deep, deep, DEEP down, what they’re doing is wrong but at the time, it seems like a good idea.

I think all the cast did a great job but to me Krysten Ritter did an amazing job in depicting Jessica. She was very convincing and her attitude is so funny – “laser eyes”. haha great stuff!

I can’t wait for the upcoming Netflix series Iron Fist and of course the second season of Daredevil.

Leave a Reply

