Get Xbox One’s Razer Atrox Arcade Stick to work on Steam

Microsoft has added native support for the Razer Atrox  Arcade Stick to work on Windows 10. I downloaded Killer Instinct via Play Anyway and the stick just worked. I thought “amazing!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I built a gaming PC to play games I couldn’t with just an Xbox One – the absence of BlazBlue Central Fiction has just pushed me over the edge. Luckily, it’s on Steam. I bought it on Steam and tried to use my Razer Atrox Arcade Stick and to my disappointment, it didn’t work. Fuck! I was disappointed and played a bit using a normal Xbox One controller. But it wasn’t enough. I have grown to like using a stick for fighting games and I even started BlazBlue on a stick. I wanted to know whether it was possible. Fortunately, it was. Even more lucky, the answer was in BlazBlue Central Fiction’s Steam community pages. They linked it to a guide. Before you go to it, I must warn you, it is a year old (making me doubt it still worked) and I had to tweak the steps a little bit before it started to work.

  1. You can go ahead and download the driver and run the right .exe file (depending on whether  you have a 32 or 64 bit OS).
  2. So as with the guide, you’ll need to completely remove all the Xbox One controller drivers first. Restarting after removing each one.
    1. To remove, you simply plug in the controller and go to ‘Device Manager’ (there’s a shortcut in your settings). Under ‘Xbox Peripherals’ right click the Xbox gaming device (might be called controller) and select ‘Uninstall device’.
    2. Restart your machine.
    3. Do this for every Xbox Controller you had plugged in.
    4. I had 3 controllers registered – Xbox normal controller, the Elite and the Atrox stick. I had to remove one, then restart, then remove the next, then restart until all of them were gone.
  3. Now, here is where it was a bit different for me. I had to go to ‘Control Panel’ > ‘Hardware and Sound’ > ‘Devices and Printers’ and do two things.
    1. Right click on your computer’s name and select ‘Device Installation Settings’. Then select ‘No‘ you do not want it to automatically download apps, etc… This should stop it from installing the unwanted drivers.
    2. If you had previously installed the Razer Atrox Arcade Stick, you might see it here. Right click on it and select ‘Uninstall device’. I don’t know why it was still there when I was attempting it.
  4. Restart your machine.
  5. Now, I plugged in the Atrox Arcade Stick and went to ‘Device Manager’. As before, right click ‘Xbox gaming device’ and ‘Update driver’. You will want to ‘Browse my computer for driver software’ (find your driver yourself). Then ‘pick from a list of available drivers’. Select 6.2.11059.0 version and ok.
  6. Restart your machine.
  7. Open up Steam > Settings > Controller Settings.
    1. You’ll need to turn on ‘Generic Gamepad Configuration Support’.
    2. I also turned on ‘Xbox Configuration Support’ but don’t think this is necessary.

Enjoy!

Helpful links:

2 thoughts on “Get Xbox One’s Razer Atrox Arcade Stick to work on Steam

Leave a Reply

