Quick fire movie catch up!

So I normally like to write up my thoughts on movies as I watch them but I’ve fallen behind quite a bit. It’s probably better I combine them now that some time has passed since I saw them (I think this is evident by how little I say towards the end). Well, here goes.

Spotlight

Spotlight is an amazing film. I usually like action movies and Spotlight’s most action intensive scene is someone doing some photocopying (borrowed from reviewer!).

I thoroughly enjoyed it and the time just flew by. I didn’t even notice the 2 hours runtime. The well paced and unbelievable story just kept my attention.

The cast is superb with everyone at top condition – Michael Keaton, Mark Ruffalo, John Slattery, Stanley Tucci, Rachel McAdams, Live Schreiber there’s too many to list.

This is a movie based on true events so it adds to just how shocking it is and the ending was actually quite powerful. From my interpretation of it, we’re often contempt that there was nothing we could have done about a situation – it let’s us sleep at night. But sometimes, people have been desperately screaming at us for help and we’re just too focused on ourselves to notice.

Excellent movie that should be seen by everyone.

Bird Man

I really liked this movie. The story was confined to an actor who is betting everything on this play and he has to balance out his relationship with his daughter and try to take care of the other cast members.

The film seems to be done in mostly one shot which was impressive and ties in with the theme that life and time doesn’t stop for anything.

I thought the cast was well casted, we had Michael Keaton, Edward Norton and Emma Stone. Emma has a very weird, good looking attractive face… I don’t know how to describe it, she pulls this face once in a while and it just irks me a little. Don’t know why. This is purely something weird with me I guess.

Throughout the film I couldn’t tell what was real and what wasn’t and in the end, I concluded it was probably his imagination.

Very stylish movie which I don’t think is for everyone.

Train to Busan

Train to Busan is a very good zombie movie in a long time. What’s more surprising (to me) is that it’s South Korean. It’s a very clever movie with lots of scary and exciting scenes.

The characters were great because every death was accompanied by gasp and sympathy for the victim (except the one bit). There’s also a scene at the end that plays homage to George A. Romero’s Night of the Living Dead’s final scene where the survivor gets shot in the head after being mistaken for a zombie.

I really like this horror movie, so if you’re into zombies, I’d recommend this.

I am Hero

This is a Japanese horror movie where a sort of zombie virus plagues Japan. It’s based off a manga and this is a terrible movie. The zombies are inconsistent. Some are fast, some are slow, some can talk – it’s really weird. My greatest problem is the final zombie keeps on doing high jumps and landing on his head to the point it’s reshaped his head (his head is almost flat from landing on it so much). We’ve also seen earlier in the movie that heads are the weakspots for these zombies. So why the fuck is this guy still functioning at athlete fitness level? The falls should’ve killed it. Also it doesn’t make sense for a group scavenging for food, who later turn out to be selfish dickheads, to help our protagonist. They leave each other behind but not someone they just met?

This is horrible and I don’t recommend this to anyone.

Hail Caeser!

This was a comedy with a number of big names in it.  It was funny in parts and my dad liked the old movie aesthetics they were going for. Pretty cool movie and has funny parts in it.

I would recommend people to see it if they have nothing else to see/do.

Money Monster

I liked this movie. I miss good movies with proper hostage and negotiation scenes. I thought the team work between Julia Roberts and George Clooney was good. Also this is a Jodie Foster movie – I like Jodie Foster. There were moments of comedy and a sad ending.

Recommended to people who want a movie with story.

Zootopia

This was an awesome animation with some very meaningful themes. The message about stereotyping people and racism is great with some hilarious scenes.

I would recommend this movie to pretty much anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

